Do women need to be cows to be respected?
Sujatro Ghosh

Sujatro Ghosh

from India, born in 1993, photographer and video artist and, since November 2019, an MRI-scholarship holder in Berlin.

t was the early summer of 2017 in New York. Sujatro Ghosh was there to take photos for an American aid organization. One evening, sitting in his room, a sort of punchline shot through his head: “Isn’t it absurd that for some years now, cows in India have been protected more and more aggressively against what are often only purported attacks, but women are attacked with even greater aggression, raped and even murdered? Do women need to be cows to be respected?”

Millions of clicks on Instagram

“A woman is raped every 15 minutes in India. There are quite a few official statistics on this. Yet when you look at how few of these acts are punished, it’s sad”, says Ghosh. The young photographer headed out to buy a cow mask at a party shop, returned to his homeland, and launched his “Cow Mask Project”. He photographed women who disguised their faces under the mask  in public, in front of the Taj Mahal or at a lake, at train stations or in fields, alone or in crowds. He posted the pictures on social media.

The resonance was overwhelming. “When I posted the first picture on Instagram, it was shared 500 times. After one week there were already 300 media reports about the project in India, and after two weeks it was covered by media all over the world”, he describes. ARD, BBC, Der Spiegel, CNN, France 24 – all wanted interviews and broadcast reports about the young artist and his courageous and far-reaching project. Millions clicked on the pictures on the Internet; women from all over India and from other countries reached out to Ghosh because they wanted to take part in the project.

Child of liberal immigrants

Ghosh was born in Calcutta, the capital of West Bengal, into a fourth generation immigrant family. His great-grandfather moved from Bangladesh to Calcutta, when it was still under British colonial rule. As he worked in the public administration, he was able to bring his family to join him. For Ghosh, the metropolis in the east of India meant freedom: “I had a very liberal upbringing and a very mixed circle of friends,” he says. Justice was a big issue, gender equality a matter of course: “The women in my family all worked, both my mother and my grandmother; my grandmother was even a single parent. They all earned their own money and made their own decisions.”

After finishing secondary school, Ghosh studied journalism. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Calcutta and his postgraduate degree from Jamia Millia Islamia in New Delhi. He started working as a journalist while still a student, and after graduating he stayed in New Delhi to work as a freelance photographer.

A politically divided society

At the same time, he observed how the country had changed since the Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was elected as the ruling party in 2014. “Since then everything has been politicised – and thus a wedge has been driven in between Hindus and Muslims,” says Ghosh. Even cows, which are considered sacred by Hindus, now served as a pretext for persecution: self-appointed “cow vigilantes” ensure that the animals are not traded or eaten, and punish people who allegedly violate this commandment – even to the point of murder. Women, on the other hand, cannot hope for a similar freedom from harm.

And so, Ghosh asked a single question loudly and for all the world to hear: Do women need to be cows to be safe? The wave of enthusiasm generated by his message was followed by a flood of hate mail and threatening phone calls. Following a documentary with the Arab TV broadcaster Al Jazeera, Ghosh’s position became so dangerous that the Martin Roth-Initiative made it possible for him to go to Berlin on a scholarship.

The photographer is now a long way from home, but he still wants to continue to take a stance. In a book, for example, and in a new art project: “Geography of Hate”, in which he literally measures the physical and psychological consequences of violence. He wants to go back to India when freedom of expression is once again possible. “Looking at the fanaticism right now, this seems like a distant dream”, he says. “But we have a saying: The farmer lives on hope. So let’s hope.”

(translated from German into English)

Text: Marion Meyer-Radtke; editing: MRI

Photos/video: Rolf Schulten; used footage/images in Video/Audio slideshow: Sujatro Ghosh

Video/audio slideshow design: Johanna Barnbeck

Artists

For more portraits of MRI scholarship holders please click here.

Müssen Frauen erst zu Kühen werden, um respektiert zu werden?
Sujatro Ghosh

Sujatro Ghosh

aus Indien, geboren 1993, Fotograf und Videokünstler, seit November 2019 als MRI-Stipendiat in Berlin.  

Es war im Frühsommer 2017 bei einem Aufenthalt in New York. Sujatro Ghosh war dort, um für eine US-amerikanische Hilfsorganisation Fotos zu machen. Eines Abends saß er in seinem Zimmer und eine Art Punchline schoss ihm durch den Kopf: Ist es nicht absurd, dass in seiner Heimat Indien Kühe seit einigen Jahren immer aggressiver gegen oft nur vermeintliche Übergriffe geschützt werden – Frauen aber mit noch mehr Aggressivität angegriffen, vergewaltigt und sogar ermordet werden? Müssen Frauen also erst zu Kühen werden, um respektiert zu werden?

Millionen Klicks auf Instagram

„Alle 15 Minuten wird in Indien eine Frau vergewaltigt. Dazu gibt es etliche offizielle Statistiken. Aber wenn man sich anguckt, wie wenige von diesen Taten bestraft werden, dann ist das einfach nur traurig“, sagt Ghosh. Der junge Fotograf zog los, um sich in einem Partyshop eine Kuhmaske zu kaufen, kehrte in seine Heimat zurück und startete sein „Cow Mask Project“: Er fotografierte Frauen, die ihr Gesicht unter der Maske verbargen und so in der Öffentlichkeit auftraten – vor dem Taj Mahal oder auf einem See, in Bahnhöfen oder auf Feldern, allein oder in Menschenmengen. Die Bilder postete er in den Sozialen Medien.

Die Resonanz war überwältigend. „Als ich das erste Bild bei Instagram postete, wurde es 500 Mal geteilt. Nach einer Woche gab es schon 300 Medienberichte in Indien über das Projekt, und nach zwei Wochen berichteten Medien aus aller Welt darüber“, erzählt er. ARD, BBC, Der Spiegel, CNN, France 24 – alle wollten Interviews und brachten Berichte über den jungen Künstler und sein ebenso forsches wie hintergründiges Projekt. Millionen klickten die Bilder jetzt im Internet an, Frauen aus ganz Indien und aus anderen Ländern meldeten sich, weil sie mitmachen wollten.

Kind liberaler Einwanderer

Sujatro Ghosh wurde in Kalkutta geboren, der Hauptstadt von Westbengalen, in eine Einwandererfamilie vierter Generation: Sein Ur-Großvater kam aus Bangladesch, arbeitete in Kalkutta noch unter der britischen Kolonialherrschaft in der Verwaltung und konnte deshalb seine Familie nachholen. Für Sujatro Ghosh bedeutete die Millionenstadt im Osten von Indien Freiheit: „Ich hatte eine sehr liberale Erziehung und einen sehr gemischten Freundeskreis“, berichtet er. Gerechtigkeit war ein großes Thema, Geschlechtergerechtigkeit eine Selbstverständlichkeit: „Die Frauen in meiner Familie haben alle gearbeitet, ob meine Mutter oder meine Großmutter, die sogar alleinerziehend war – sie haben alle ihr eigenes Geld verdient und treffen ihre eigenen Entscheidungen.“

Nach der Schule studierte Ghosh Journalismus. Den Bachelor machte er an der University of Calcutta, den Postgraduate-Abschluss an der Jamia Millia Islamia in Neu Delhi. Schon während des Studiums fing er an, journalistisch zu arbeiten, nach dem Abschluss blieb er als freiberuflicher Fotograf in Neu Delhi.

Eine politisch gespaltene Gesellschaft

Zugleich beobachtete er, wie sich das Land veränderte, seit die hindunationalistische Bharatiya Janata Partei (BJP) im Jahr 2014 zur Regierungspartei gewählt worden war. „Seitdem wird alles politisiert – und damit zum Spaltkeil, der Hindus und Moslems auseinandertreibt“, sagt Ghosh. Auch Kühe, die im Hinduismus als heilig gelten und nun als Vorwand zur Verfolgung dienten: Selbsternannte „Kuh-Wächter“ wachen darüber, dass Rinder nicht gehandelt oder gar gegessen werden, und sie bestrafen Leute, die angeblich gegen dieses Gebot verstoßen – bis hin zum Mord. Frauen dagegen können nicht so selbstverständlich auf Unversehrtheit hoffen.

Und so stellte Sujatro Ghosh laut und für alle Welt sichtbar eine einzige Frage: Müssen Frauen Kühe werden, um sicher zu sein? Auf die Welle der Begeisterung folgte die Flut der Hassmails und Drohanrufe. Nach einem Dokumentarfilm mit dem arabischen TV-Sender Al Jazeera wurde die Lage so gefährlich für ihn, dass die Martin Roth-Initiative ihm über ein Stipendium den Weg nach Berlin ermöglichte.

Von seiner Heimat ist der Fotograf nun weit entfernt – seine Positionen will er trotzdem weiter vertreten. In einem Buch zum Beispiel und in einem neuen Kunstprojekt: der „Geography of Hate“, in der er buchstäblich die physischen und psychischen Folgen von Gewalt ausmisst. Nach Indien will er zurück, wenn es dort Meinungsfreiheit gebe. „Und wenn man sich den Fanatismus zurzeit ansieht, scheint das wie ein ferner Traum“, sagt er. „Aber bei uns gibt es ein Sprichwort: Der Bauer lebt von Hoffnung. Also hoffen wir.“

Text: Marion Meyer-Radtke; Redaktion: MRI

Fotos/Video: Rolf Schulten, weitere Aufnahmen im Video: Sujatro Ghosh

Gestaltung Video/Audioslideshow: Johanna Barnbeck

Stipendiat* innen

Weitere Porträts von MRI-Stipendiat*innen finden Sie hier.