A war that is not documented artistically or culturally will be denied or forgotten.
Tewa Barnosa

Tewa Barnosa

from Libya, born in 1998, artist, curator, cultural manager, came to the Berlin-based host organisation coculture e.V. in January 2019 as an MRI scholarship holder.

‘I think war makes you grow up faster’, says Tewa Barnosa. At the age of seventeen, one year after the beginning of the civil war in Libya, she founded the country’s first art and cultural space that provides a platform targeted to young emerging artists in the capital city of Tripoli. She had actually wanted to study art in the traditional way and enrolled at the university. But after two semesters she was excluded. ‘I said to myself: if I want to be an artist, I need a basis’, recalls Barnosa. ‘And if nobody offers me that, then I’ll create one myself.’

WaraQ Art Foundation: contact point for young artists

In 2015, with the support of her parents and friends, she therefore set up the WaraQ Art Foundation, a contact point for young artists to exchange ideas, discuss, organise exhibitions and activities. ‘At that time I had absolutely no idea about cultural management, and approached our activities very spontaneously.’

In spite of this, or perhaps precisely because of it, the WaraQ Art Foundation quickly gained popularity – also among established artists, who brought to it the benefit of their experience. Central topics addressed at ‘WaraQ’ are the country’s civil war, violation of human rights, questions about origin, identity, diversity, and how to deal with conflicts.

The power of calligraphy

These are also the core themes of Barnosa’s art. It combines Arabic calligraphy with painting, photography, visual arts and digital media, and repeatedly uses elements of the Tamazight language, which was banned in Libya until the fall of Muammar al-Gaddafi in 2011. Barnosa comes from a Tamazight-speaking family.

Early on, Barnosa’s work sparked interest outside of Libya. Barnosa held exhibitions at the P21 Gallery, the AWAN Festival in London, the Casa Árabe in Madrid and the Galleria delle prigioni in Treviso/Italy. In addition, she curated exhibitions around the world.

The message of the walls of Tripoli

In her work Infinite Silence, for example, in order to visualise the different forms of silence that she perceives surrounding war and war atrocities, Barnosa converted the last letter of the Arabic word for silence into a sign of endlessness and set it as a neon light on a chalk board. For the series Silenced Protests, she used calligraphy to re-write graffiti from walls in Tripoli onto bricks, which she then arranged in four thematic complexes (‘The Chaos’, ‘The Structure’, ‘The People’, and ‘The Scale’). ‘Wherever open protest in the streets is persecuted, people need walls’, says Barnosa. ‘They say walls have ears, but they can also speak.’

A new voice in Berlin

Thanks to Barnosa, the walls of Tripoli are now also proclaiming their messages beyond Libya: she created both works in Berlin and exhibited them there in August 2020. At the beginning of 2019, the young artist came to the city on a scholarship from the Martin Roth-Initiative. For a year and a half, she worked with the host organisation coculture, curated and organised exhibitions, developed her own art and showed it in numerous European countries.

At present, Barnosa cannot work in her home country. With the increasing success of the WaraQ Art Foundation, it became a target. Militia attacked the centre and its surroundings several times. The first major attack was a reaction to the 2017 exhibition The Warning.

Continuing regardless, so as to reach people

‘I thought a lot about whether I should stop so that no one would be hurt’, says Barnosa. ‘But we carried on, and took our activities outside, into the public sphere. Public places belong to everyone. It was a statement. And it was a life-changing experience.’ Outside, the young artists reached even more people: residents, among them families who came to the activities with their children.

After the attacks by militia, Barnosa went to Berlin on an MRI scholarship. It was time for a break, she says, to think about what the next step should be. In Berlin, she was able to work with international artists for the first time, developed new perspectives, and made contacts abroad. ‘That helped me a lot.’ But her heart’s desire is one day to be part of a cultural scene in Libya that can work without fear and exchange ideas with a critical, open-minded public.

coculture cooperates as a host organisation with the Martin Roth-Initiative. Coculture is a non-governmental organisation founded in 2017 by the artist and activist Khaled Barakeh. It supports artists in exile and promotes the local cultural scene.

(translated from German into English)

Text: Marion Meyer-Radtke; editing: MRI

Photos: Rolf Schulten; archive images in audio slideshow: Tewa Barnosa

Audio slideshow design: Johanna Barnbeck

Artists

For more portraits of MRI scholarship holders please click here.

Ein Krieg der nicht künstlerisch dokumentiert ist, wird geleugnet oder vergessen.
Tewa Barnosa

Tewa Barnosa

aus Libyen, geboren 1998, Künstlerin, Kuratorin, Kulturmanagerin, kam im Januar 2019 als MRI-Stipendiatin zur Gastorganisation coculture e.V. in Berlin.

„Ich glaube, Krieg macht einen schneller erwachsen“, sagt Tewa Barnosa. Mit 17 Jahren, ein Jahr nach Beginn des Bürgerkriegs in Libyen, gründete sie in der Hauptstadt Tripolis den ersten Kunst- und Kulturraum des Landes, der speziell jungen aufstrebenden Künstler*innen eine Plattform gibt. Eigentlich hatte sie ganz klassisch Kunst studieren wollen und sich an der Universität eingeschrieben. Nach zwei Semestern wurde sie jedoch ausgeschlossen. „Ich habe mir gesagt: Wenn ich Künstlerin werden will, brauche ich eine Basis. Und wenn niemand mir die bietet, dann schaffe ich sie mir selbst“, sagt Barnosa.

WaraQ Art Foundation: Anlaufstelle für junge Künstler*innen

Im Jahr 2015 richtete sie deshalb mit der Unterstützung ihrer Eltern und von Freund*innen die „WaraQ Art Foundation“ ein, einen Anlaufpunkt für junge Künstler*innen, um sich auszutauschen, zu diskutieren, Ausstellungen und Aktionen zu organisieren. „Ich hatte damals gar keine Ahnung von Kulturmanagement und bin unsere Aktionen ganz spontan angegangen.“

Die WaraQ Art Foundation gewann trotzdem oder vielleicht genau deshalb rasch Zulauf – auch von etablierten Künstler*innen, die ihre Erfahrung einbrachten. Zentral bei „WaraQ“ ist die Beschäftigung mit dem Bürgerkrieg im Land, mit der Verletzung von Menschenrechten, Fragen nach Herkunft, Identität, Diversität und dem Umgang mit Konflikten.

Die Wirkmacht der Kalligraphie

Auch für Tewa Barnosa selbst sind das die Kernthemen ihrer Kunst. Dabei verbindet sie arabische Kalligraphie mit Malerei, Fotografie, bildender Kunst und digitalen Medien – und verwendet immer wieder Elemente der Sprache Tamazight, die bis zum Sturz von Muammar al-Gaddafi 2011 in Libyen verboten war. Barnosa kommt aus einer Tamazight-sprachigen Familie.

Ihre Arbeiten stießen früh außerhalb von Libyen auf Interesse. Barnosa stellte sie unter anderem in der P21 Gallery und auf dem AWAN Festival in London aus, in der Casa Árabe in Madrid und in der Galleria delle prigioni in Treviso/Italien. Daneben kuratierte sie Ausstellungen in aller Welt.

Die Botschaft der Mauern von Tripolis

Um die unterschiedlichen Formen des Schweigens zu versinnbildlichen, die sie rund um Krieg und Grausamkeiten wahrnimmt, arbeitete Barnosa zum Beispiel in ihrem Werk „Infinite Silence“ den letzten Buchstaben des arabischen Wortes für Stille in ein Endlos-Zeichen um und setzte es als Neon-Leuchte auf eine Kreidetafel. Für die Reihe „Silenced Protests“ kalligraphierte sie Graffiti-Kommentare von Mauern aus Tripolis auf Ziegelsteine, die sie zu vier Themenkomplexen anordnete (The Chaos, The Structure, The People, The Scale). „Wo der offene Protest auf der Straße verfolgt wird, brauchen Menschen Mauern“, sagt Barnosa. „Man sagt, Mauern hätten Ohren, sie können aber auch sprechen.“

Eine neue Stimme in Berlin

Dank Tewa Barnosa verkünden die Mauern aus Tripolis ihre Botschaften nun auch außerhalb von Libyen: Beide Arbeiten entstanden in Berlin und waren dort im August 2020 ausgestellt. Anfang 2019 war die junge Künstlerin über ein Stipendium der Martin Roth-Initiative in die Stadt gekommen. Anderthalb Jahre lang arbeitete sie in der Gastorganisation coculture mit, kuratierte und organisierte Ausstellungen mit, entwickelte ihre eigene Kunst weiter und zeigte sie in zahlreichen europäischen Ländern.

In ihrer Heimat kann Barnosa derzeit nicht arbeiten. Ihre WaraQ Art Foundation war mit zunehmendem Erfolg zur Zielscheibe geworden. Mehrfach attackierten Milizionäre das Zentrum und sein Umfeld. Der erste größere Angriff war eine Reaktion auf die Ausstellung „The Warning“ 2018.

Weitermachen, um Menschen zu erreichen

„Ich habe mir oft Gedanken gemacht: darüber ob ich aufhören soll, damit niemand zu Schaden kommt“, sagt Tewa Barnosa. „Aber dann haben wir weitergemacht, und sind mit unseren Aktionen rausgegangen in die Öffentlichkeit. Öffentliche Plätze gehören allen. Es war ein Statement. Und es war eine lebensverändernde Erfahrung.“ Denn draußen erreichten die jungen Künstler*innen noch mehr Menschen: Anwohner*innen, Familien, die mit ihren Kindern kamen.

Nach den wiederholten Angriffen der Milizionäre ging Tewa Barnosa über das MRI-Stipendium nach Berlin. Es sei Zeit gewesen für eine Pause, zum Nachdenken darüber, was der nächste Schritt sein soll, sagt sie. In Berlin habe sie erstmals mit internationalen Künstler*innen zusammenarbeiten können, neue Perspektiven entwickelt und Kontakt ins Ausland geknüpft. „Das hat mir sehr geholfen“, sagt sie. Aber ihr Herzenswunsch sei, eines Tages in Libyen Teil einer Kulturszene zu sein, die ohne Angst arbeiten kann und sich mit einem kritisch-aufgeschlossenen Publikum austauscht.

coculture kooperiert als Gastorganisation mit der Martin Roth-Initiative. Die Nicht-Regierungsorganisation wurde 2017 von dem Künstler und Aktivisten Khaled Barakeh gegründet. Sie unterstützt Künstler*innen im Exil und fördert die lokale Kulturszene.

Text: Marion Meyer-Radtke; Redaktion: MRI

Fotos: Rolf Schulten; Archivaufnahmen in Audioslideshow: Tewa Barnosa

Gestaltung Audioslideshow: Johanna Barnbeck

Stipendiat* innen

Weitere Porträts von MRI-Stipendiat*innen finden Sie hier.