What we call security is for me more a ‘Business of Protection’: The business of protection needs to produce insecurity in order to sell protection. That is like an equation. In the end, it’s all about money and profit.
Igor Vidor

Igor Vidor

from Brazil, born in 1985, photographer, visual artist, and, since July 2019, MRI scholarship holder at the host organisation Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin.

Nine friends of Igor Vidor have been killed by the Brazilian police. Among them, his childhood friend Rodrigo. That was in 2016; Vidor was artist-in-residence at the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in South Korea when the news reached him. It was a shock, and perhaps the greatest turning point in his life, artistically and personally.

‘I just thought: why? Why like this? Twelve gunshot wounds and broken ribs. Wouldn’t one shot have been enough? Or arresting him?’ asks Vidor.

The connection between poverty, money flows and violence

Rodrigo was killed by police violence. He was a drug dealer and had already climbed high in the hierarchy – but did that make him less of a victim? Vidor wondered. Had his friend therefore forfeited all rights? The two of them had played football together as children, grew up together, and then took different paths. And so Vidor began to question the connections – between poverty, skin colour and advancement, between money flows and violence – and to show them in his art.

‘I began doing research’ says Vidor. ‘Why do some of us live in safety and others not; what does safety mean? And then I understood: we’re talking about security, but I call it the “Business of Protection”. The business of protection needs to produce insecurity in order to sell protection. That is like an equation. In the end, it’s all about money and profit.’

Staging aggression and power

Vidor grew up in a poor neighbourhood in São Paulo. ‘It was a very violent environment. Violence was prevalent in the streets, and was also practiced by the police’, he says. He went to the local art college on a scholarship, moved, and began studying philosophy and sociology.

In his first years as an artist, Vidor was mainly concerned with the social conditions and divisions in Brazil. In 2016, he broadened this perspective and has since directed it to the subject of state violence, increasingly also to the media presentation of crime, power and aggression, and to the global interrelationships between arms production, marketing strategies and their

Carne e Agonia

Vidor often makes use of symbolic objects – for example umbrellas, whose carriers were shot because the police confused them for weapons. He works with aramid fabrics, from which bulletproof vests are made, and glues to them pictures of the aggressive wild beasts that police units have chosen to be their heraldic animals (Beasts, 2020). ‘Every day in Brazil is about violence – symbolic and real violence’, explains Vidor. That is why it is important for him as an artist to find a mode of expression that addresses but doesn’t reproduce violence.

In an exhibition in São Paulo in 2018, Vidor showed his video Carne e Agonia: pictures of weapon tests are subtitled with interview statements by a police officer and a drug dealer – without the viewer knowing who is giving the respective answers. After the exhibition, Vidor received such alarming death-threats that he had to hire bodyguards, move several times, and ultimately leave the country.

Change of perspective

Thanks to the Martin Roth-Initiative, Vidor has been working since July 2019 at Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin. There, he has further developed his subject, and exhibited his work at various art venues, including the Berlinische Galerie. And: being far from home has sharpened his perspective as some of the weapons that are used in Brazil are produced in Germany. ‘I’m very grateful that I can work here’, emphasises Igor Vidor. ‘But I hope that in the exhibitions here I can make clear that democracy is also a global issue: if we’re fighting for the rainforest in Brazil, shouldn’t we also fight for the lives of the people there?’

The Künstlerhaus Bethanien is an international cultural centre in Berlin. As a studio house and workplace for professional artists, and a multi-layered project workshop and event location, it has set itself the goal of promoting contemporary visual arts. Its chief focus is an international studio programme, in which artists from all over the world develop and present projects every year.

(translated from German into English)

Text: Marion Meyer-Radtke; editing: MRI

Photos/video: Rolf Schulten

Audio slideshow design: Johanna Barnbeck

Artists

For more portraits of MRI scholarship holders please click here.

Die Rede ist zwar von Sicherheit – aber ich nenne es das „Business of Protection“. Ein Business of Protection muss Unsicherheit produzieren, um Schutz verkaufen zu können. Das ist wie eine mathematische Gleichung. Am Ende geht es um Geld und Profit.
Igor Vidor

Igor Vidor

aus Brasilien, geboren 1985, Fotograf und Bildender Künstler, seit Juli 2019 MRI-Stipendiat bei der Gastorganisation Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin.

Neun Freunde von Igor Vidor sind von der brasilianischen Polizei getötet worden. Auch sein Kindheitsfreund Rodrigo. Das war im Jahr 2016 und Vidor war gerade als Artist in Residence am National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Südkorea, als ihn die Nachricht erreichte. Sie war ein Schock – und der vielleicht größte Wendepunkt in seinem Leben, künstlerisch und privat.

„Ich dachte nur: Warum? Warum so? Zwölf Schusswunden und gebrochene Rippen. Hätte nicht auch ein Schuss gereicht? Oder eine Festnahme?“, sagt Vidor.

Der Zusammenhang von Armut, Geldströmen und Gewalt

Rodrigo starb durch Polizeigewalt. Er war Drogenhändler und schon recht hoch geklettert in der Hierarchie – aber machte ihn das weniger zum Opfer?, fragte sich Igor Vidor. Hatte er dadurch alle Rechte verwirkt?  Als Kinder hatten die beiden Fußball zusammen gespielt, sie waren zusammen aufgewachsen, um dann unterschiedliche Wege einzuschlagen. Und so fing Vidor nun an, die Zusammenhänge zu hinterfragen – von Armut, Hautfarbe und Aufstieg, von Geldströmen und Gewalt – und sie in seinen Kunstwerken auszustellen.

„Ich begann zu recherchieren: Warum lebt man in Sicherheit oder auch nicht, was meint Sicherheit überhaupt?“, erzählt Vidor. „Und dann habe ich begriffen: Die Rede ist zwar von Sicherheit – aber ich nenne es das ‚Business of Protection‘. Ein Business of Protection muss Unsicherheit produzieren, um Schutz verkaufen zu können. Das ist wie eine mathematische Gleichung. Am Ende geht es um Geld und Profit.“

Inszenierungen von Aggression und Macht

Igor Vidor wuchs in einem armen Viertel in São Paulo auf. „Es war eine sehr gewalttätige Umgebung, Gewalt herrschte auf den Straßen und wurde auch durch die Polizei ausgeübt“, berichtet er. Über ein Stipendium kam er an die Kunsthochschule, zog um, fing an, sich mit Philosophie und Soziologie auseinanderzusetzen.

In seinen ersten Jahren als Künstler beschäftigte er sich vor allem mit den sozialen Verhältnissen und gesellschaftlicher Spaltung in Brasilien. 2016 weitete er diesen Blick und richtet ihn seitdem auf das Thema Staatsgewalt, zunehmend aber auch auf mediale Inszenierungen von Kriminalität, Macht und Aggression, sowie auf die globalen Zusammenhänge von Waffenproduktion, Marketingstrategien und ihren Auswirkungen in Latein- und Südamerika.

Carne e Agonia

Häufig nutzt Vidor symbolische Objekte, Regenschirme zum Beispiel, deretwegen die Träger erschossen wurden – weil Polizisten sie für Waffen hielten. Er arbeitet mit Aramid-Stoffen, aus denen Schusswesten hergestellt werden – und klebt Bilder von aggressiven Wildtieren auf, die sich Polizeieinheiten zum Wappentier erwählt haben („Beasts“, 2020). „In Brasilien geht es jeden Tag um Gewalt – um symbolische und echte Gewalt“, erläutert Vidor. Deshalb sei es für ihn als Künstler wichtig, eine Ausdrucksweise zu finden, die Gewalt thematisiert, aber sie nicht reproduziert.

In einer Ausstellung 2018 in São Paulo zeigte Vidor sein Video „Carne e Agonia“: Bilder von Waffentests sind untertitelt mit Interviewaussagen eines Polizisten und eines Drogendealers – ohne dass Betrachter*innen erfahren, zu wem die jeweilige Antwort gehört. Danach wurde Vidor so massiv mit dem Tode bedroht, dass er Bodyguards anheuern, mehrfach umziehen und letztlich das Land verlassen musste.

Perspektivwechsel

Seit Juli 2019 ist Vidor über die Martin Roth-Initiative im Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin. Dort entwickelt er sein Thema weiter und stellt seine Arbeiten an verschiedenen Kunstorten aus, darunter die Berlinische Galerie. Und: fern der Heimat schärft sich sein Blick erneut. Denn die Waffen, die in Brasilien zum Einsatz kommen, werden auch in Deutschland produziert. „Ich bin sehr dankbar, dass ich hier arbeiten darf“, betont Igor Vidor. „Ich hoffe aber, dass ich in den Ausstellungen hier deutlich machen kann, dass auch Demokratie ein globales Thema ist: Wenn wir um den Regenwald in Brasilien kämpfen – sollten wir dann nicht auch um das Leben der Menschen dort kämpfen?“

Das Künstlerhaus Bethanien ist ein internationales Kulturzentrum in Berlin. Als Atelierhaus und Arbeitsstätte für professionelle Künstler*innen, vielschichtig strukturierte Projektwerkstatt und Veranstaltungsort hat es sich die Förderung der zeitgenössischen bildenden Kunst zum Ziel gesetzt. Schwerpunkt ist das Internationale Atelierprogramm, in dem Jahr für Jahr Künstler*innen aus der ganzen Welt Projekte ausarbeiten und präsentieren.

Text: Marion Meyer-Radtke; Redaktion: MRI

Fotos/Video: Rolf Schulten

Gestaltung Video/Audioslideshow: Johanna Barnbeck

Stipendiat* innen

Weitere Porträts von MRI-Stipendiat*innen finden Sie hier.